Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

Navratri, one of the most colorful and lively festivals celebrated by Hindus worldwide is all about the nine Devis, or goddesses. Let’s dive into this exciting festival and discover the magic of Navratri!

Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

The Nine Devis

Navratri is a Hindu festival that lasts for nine nights, and each night is dedicated to one of the nine Devis. These goddesses represent the power, strength, and positivity that we all have inside us. Here’s a brief look at them:

Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

  1. Shailaputri: She represents the power of the mountains.
  2. Brahmacharini: She symbolizes meditation and the pursuit of knowledge.
  3. Chandraghanta: This Devi wears a crescent moon on her head and is the embodiment of bravery.
  4. Kushmanda:She brings warmth and energy to the world.
  5. Skandamata: The mother of Lord Kartikeya, she signifies motherly love.
  6. Katyayani: A fierce warrior, she teaches us to be strong in the face of challenges.
  7. Kaalratri: She’s the dark and fierce form of Devi Durga.
  8. Mahagauri: Radiating purity and grace, she shows us the path to righteousness.
  9. Siddhidatri: She grants us our wishes and represents our inner potential.

Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

Fun Ways to Celebrate Navratri

Now that you know about the Devis, let’s talk about how you can celebrate Navratri in a fun way!

  1. Learn About the Devis: Spend some time coloring and learning about the Devis. In collaboration with Kulture Khazana, we’ve created this beautiful Navratri color calendar that includes the different elements of each Devi, the color of the day, and her wonderful qualities. Included is a matching game for some more family fun! Download Here
  2. Dress Up: One of the best parts of Navratri is getting all dolled up in colorful and traditional clothes. Choose your favorite outfits, and don’t forget to accessorize!
  3. Garba and Dandiya: Get your dancing shoes on and join the Garba and Dandiya nights. These are energetic and playful dances that involve twirling and clacking sticks. It’s a great way to have fun with friends and family.
  4. Rangoli Art: Try your hand at creating beautiful rangoli designs outside your home. Use colorful powders or flower petals to make intricate patterns.
  5. Feasting: Navratri is also about enjoying delicious food. Explore special treats like sabudana tikkis, puri, kala chana, and sweets like jalebi

Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

Navratri is a time to celebrate the strength and positivity within us and around us. So, this year, join in the festivities, dance to the beats, and honor the nine Devis. Have a magical and joyful Navratri!


*By providing your email addresses for the free printables you agree to join our mailing list. At Kulture Khazana and Love Laugh Mirch, we’re dedicated to nurturing children’s connection to Indian culture* 

3 thoughts on “Navratri: Celebrating the Nine Devis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *